Friday, 05 March

Akufo-Addo submits ministerial nominees to Parliament

General News
President Akufo-Addo

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has named his nominees for ministerial positions in his second term.

A statement signed and issued by the Acting Director of Communications, Mr Eugene K.B, Arhin Thursday, 21 January 2021indicated that names have been submitted to Parliament, pending vetting and approval.

The list of nominated ministers mainly includes those who have been maintained at their previous portfolios, new entrants and newly designated portfolios.

For those who have been maintained, the President named Kojo Oppong Nkrumah as Minister for Information, Ken Ofori Atta for Finance, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto for Agriculture, Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanten for Trade and Industry, Ursula Owusu Ekuful for Communications, Albert Kan Dapaah for National Security, Dominic Nitiwul for Defence, Ambrose Dery for Interior and Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration.

The rest are Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu for Parliamentary Affairs, Kwaku Agyemang Manu for Health, Kwasi Amoako Atta for Roads and Highways, Kwaku Ofori Asiamah for Transport, Cecilia Abena Dapaah for Sanitation and Water Resources and Ignatius Baffour Awuah for Employment and Labour Relations.

Francis Asenso-Boakye for Works and Housing, Samuel Abdulai Jinapor for Lands and Natural Resources, Mustapha Yussif for Youth and Sports and Ebenezer Kojo Kum for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs are new entrants . 

Meanwhile, Godfred Yeboah Dame and Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum have been designated as Attorney General and Minister for Justice and Minster for Education respectively.

Freda Prempeh is now the Minister designate for Works and Housing Ministry while, Anthony Cudjoe is the Minister designate for Public Enterprises.

Matthew Opoku Prempeh has been moved to the Energy ministry, John Peter Amewu for Railway Development, Mavis Hawa Koomson for Fisheries and Aquaculture Development, Dan Botwe for Local Government and Rural Development, Ibrahim Awal Mohammed for Tourism, Arts and Culture and Sarah Adwoa Safo for Gender, Children and Social Protection.

The list also included nominees for the ministers of the 16 regions in Ghana.

See the full list below: