Sunday, 21 April

Afenyo-Markin replaces Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu

The news leadership of the Majority Caucus in Parliament

Just some  24 hours after Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu's resignation as Majority Leader, his deputy, Mr. Alexander Afenyo-Markin, has been appointed as his successor. 

Mr Afenyo-Markin will now lead the Majority caucus, with Miss Patricia Appiagyei, the MP for Asokwa in the Ashanti Region, as his Deputy. 

Mr  Frank Annoh-Dompreh, the MP for Nsawam-Adoagyiri in the Eastern Region, will continue to serve as the Chief Whip.

In the controversial reshuffle, Mr Habib Iddrisu, the MP for Tolon, has been appointed Deputy Whip, while Alex Tettey Djonobuah, the MP for Sefwi Akontombra, has been named the Second Deputy Whip.

Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu resigned voluntarily from his post after a late-night meeting with President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo at the presidency.

 Despite stepping down from his leadership role, Mr  Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu has been appointed to head the New Patriotic Party's manifesto committee in preparation for the upcoming 2024 presidential and parliamentary elections

Source: Mensah