Thursday, 15 April

Four NPP MPs file motion for probe into electoral violence since 1993

Deputy Majority Leader, Alexander Afenyo-Markin is part of the MPs who filed the motion

Four MPs of the Majority Caucus in Parliament have filed a private members motion for the house to investigate instances of electoral violence since 1993.

The MPs are Majority Chief Whip Frank Annoh Dompreh, Deputy Majority Leader Alexander Afenyo-Markin, Abuakwa South MP Samuel Atta Akyea and the Akuapem South MP Osei Bonsu Amoah.

The motion aims to cause an investigation into “alleged interference by some members of the security agencies and some vigilante groups before, during and after presidential and general elections since 1993, resulting in injuries and loss of lives and make consequential recommendations.”

The four lawmakers also want recruitments of persons into the country’s security agencies from 1993 to be investigated.

This, according to them, is “to establish the level of ethnic, regional and gender balance in the recruitment and appointment to such public offices and make appropriate recommendations.”

On 23 March 2021, six members of the Minority in Parliament also filed a motion for a probe into instances of violence during the 2020 general elections.

They included Minority Leader Haruna Iddrisu, Minority Chief whip Muntaka Mubarak, Bawku Central MP Mahama Ayariga, Tamale North MP Alhassan Suhuyini and Builsa North MP James Agalga.