Monday, 24 January

Speaker of Parliament refers ministerial nominees to Appointments C'ttee

Speaker of Parliament, Mr Alban Bagbin

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo’s list of ministerial nominations has on Friday, 22 January 2021, been referred to the Appointments Committee by the Speaker of Parliament, Mr Alban Bagbin.

This follows the reading of a letter the Speaker received from the President for the consideration and approval of the nominees.

The Speaker has therefore directed the Committee to consider the list after which it will report to the Plenary.

The nominees are expected to be vetted by the 26-member Appointments Committee.

Thirteen members are from the governing New Patriotic Party (NPP) while the other 13 are from the main opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC).

The nominees are also expected to be recommended for approval or disapproval at the end of the vetting process.

President Akufo-Addo named his nominees for ministerial positions in his second term on Thursday, 21 January, 2021.

The list of nominated ministers mainly includes those who have been maintained at their previous portfolios, new entrants and newly designated portfolios.

For those who have been maintained, the President named Kojo Oppong Nkrumah as Minister for Information, Ken Ofori Atta for Finance, Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto for Agriculture, Alan Kwadwo Kyeremanten for Trade and Industry, Ursula Owusu Ekuful for Communications, Albert Kan Dapaah for National Security, Dominic Nitiwul for Defence, Ambrose Dery for Interior and Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration.

The rest are Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu for Parliamentary Affairs, Kwaku Agyemang Manu for Health, Kwasi Amoako Atta for Roads and Highways, Kwaku Ofori Asiamah for Transport, Cecilia Abena Dapaah for Sanitation and Water Resources and Ignatius Baffour Awuah for Employment and Labour Relations.

Francis Asenso-Boakye for Works and Housing, Samuel Abdulai Jinapor for Lands and Natural Resources, Mustapha Yussif for Youth and Sports and Ebenezer Kojo Kum for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs are new entrants .

Meanwhile, Godfred Yeboah Dame and Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum have been designated as Attorney General and Minister for Justice and Minster for Education respectively.

Freda Prempeh is now the Minister designate for Works and Housing Ministry while, Anthony Cudjoe is the Minister designate for Public Enterprises.

Matthew Opoku Prempeh has been moved to the Energy ministry, John Peter Amewu for Railway Development, Mavis Hawa Koomson for Fisheries and Aquaculture Development, Dan Botwe for Local Government and Rural Development, Ibrahim Awal Mohammed for Tourism, Arts and Culture and Sarah Adwoa Safo for Gender, Children and Social Protection.