Friday, 29 September

Akufo-Addo names 19-member cabinet

President Nana Akufo-Addo

President Nana Akufo-Addo has released a list of his cabinet members for his second term in accordance with Article 76 (1) of the 1992 Constitution.

They include:

Mr Ken Ofori-Atta – Minister of Finance

Mr Alan Kwadwo Kyerematen – Minister of Trade and Industry

Mr Dominic Nitiwul – Minister of Defence

Mr Ambrose Dery – Minister for the Interior

Ms Shirley Ayorkor Botchwey – Minister of Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration

Mr Godfred Yeboah Dame – Attorney General and Minister of Justice

Dr Owusu Afriyie Akoto – Minister of Food and Agriculture

Dr Mathew Opoku Prempeh – Minister of Energy

Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum – Minister of Education

Mr Kwaku Agyeman Manu – Minister of Health

Mr Oosei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu – Minister of Parlamentary Affairs

Mr Dan Botwe – Minister of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development

Mr Samuel Abdulai Jinapor – Minister of Lands and Natural Resources

Ms Cecilia Abena Dapaah – Minister of Sanitation and water Resources

Mr John-Peter Amewu – Minister of Railways Development

Mr Ignatius Baffour Awuah – Minister of Employment and Labour Relations

Ms Mavis Hawa Koomsn – Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture Development

Mr Ibrahim Awal Mohammed – Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture

Mr Francis Asenso-Boakye – Minister of Works and Housing  

The president, per the 1992 Constitution, can constitute a cabinet of not less than 10 and not more than 19 ministers and also appoint a secretary.

The president and the vice-president are also part of cabinet.

The president chairs cabinet meetings.

The vice-president takes up that responsibility in the president’s absence.