Wednesday, 03 June

Coronavirus: Akufo-Addo locks down Accra, Kumasi, Tema for two weeks

President Nana Akufo-Addo


President Nana Akufo-Addo has announced further restrictions of movement within the Greater Accra and Ashanti Regions as part of measures by the government to mitigate the spread of the coronavirus.

To this effect, movement in Accra and Kumasi will be restricted from 1 am Monday.

In his fourth address to the nation on the virus, Mr Akufo-Addo urged residents living in the affected areas to comply with the lockdown.

However, essential services have been exempted from the lockdown.

He identified Accra, Tema, Kasoa and Kumasi as the hotspots of the virus.

“The oath of office I swore on February 2017 demands that I dedicate myself to the service of Ghanaian people. It is my job to protect you and I am determined to do just that”, the President said, adding: “We have succeeded in stopping the importation of the disease into the country.”

“However, prevailing circumstances mean stricter measures need to be put in place to stop the spread of the virus in-country in Accra, Tema, Kasoa and Kumasi,” he added.

So, effective 1 am on Monday, 30th March, some forty-eight hours from now, I have imposed, pursuant to the powers granted the President of the Republic, under the Imposition of Restrictions Act, 2020 (Act 1012), restrictions on movement of persons in the Greater Accra Metropolitan Area (GAMA, which includes Awutu Senya East), and the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts, for a period of two (2) weeks, subject to review. It will give us the opportunity to try to halt the spread of the virus, and scale-up effectively contact tracing of persons who have come into contact with infected persons, test them for the virus, and, if necessary, quarantine and isolate them for treatment, should they prove to have the virus", the President said.

In Greater Accra, the following areas will be affected:

1.         Accra Metropolis;

2.         Tema Metropolis;

3.         Tema West Municipality;

4.         Ledzokuku Municipality;

5.         Krowor Municipality;

6.         Adentan Municipality;

7.         Ashiaman Municipality;

8.         La-Nkwantanang-Madina Municipality;

9.         La-Dade-Kotopon Municipality;

10.      Okaikwei North Municipality;

11.      Ablekuma North Municipality;

12.      Ablekuma West Municipality;

13.      Ablekuma Central Municipality;

14.      Ayawaso East Municipality;

15.      Ayawaso North Municipality;

16.      Ayawaso West Municipality;

17.      Ayawaso Central Municipality

18.      Ga West Municipality;

19.      Ga North Municipality;

20.      Ga Central Municipality;

21.      Ga South Municipality;

22.      Ga East Municipality;

23.      Korle-Klottey Municipality;

24.      Weija/Gbawe Municipality;  

25.      Kpone Katamanso Municipality; and

26.      Awutu Senya East Municipality.

In the Greater Kumasi Metropolitan Area and contiguous districts, the following areas are affected:

1.           Kumasi Metropolis;

2.           Asokwa Municipality;

3.           Suame Municipality;

4.           Old Tafo Municipality;

5.           Oforikrom Municipality;

6.           Asokore Mampong Municipality;

7.           Kwadaso Municipality;

8.           Atwima Nwabiagya Municipality;

9.           Kwabre East Municipality;

10.        Ejisu Municipality;

11.        Afigya-Kwabre South District;

12.        Bosomtwi District;

13.        Atwima Kwanwoma District; and

14.        Atwima Nwabiagya North District.

So far, the virus has infected one hundred thirty-seven people, killed four and two patients have recovered.