Thursday, 21 September

NPP ballots for Nov. 4 race: Ken Agyapong no.1, Bawumia no.2

L-R: Ken Agyapong, Mahamudu Bawumia, Owusu Afriyie Akoto and Francis Addai Nimo

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) has conducted a balloting process to determine the order in which its flagbearer hopefuls will appear ahead of the delegates' conference scheduled for November 4, 2023.

The event took place in Accra on Wednesday, September 13, 2023.

In this draw, Mr Kennedy Agyapong secured the first slot, followed by Vice President Mahamudu Bawumia in the second position. 

The third slot was chosen by former Minister of Agriculture, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, and the fourth slot went to former MP for Mampong, Francis Addai Nimo. 

The balloting was overseen by the party's national election committee, setting the stage for the NPP's forthcoming national delegates' conference, where the flagbearer for the 2024 general elections will be elected.

One of the top five aspirants, Mr Alan Kyerematen withdrew from the race after the Special Delegates Conference.

Whoever emerges winner in the four-horse race will face former President John Mahama of the majn opposition National Democratic Congress in the 2024 general elections.