Wednesday, 22 May

NPP flag bearer aspirants can start picking forms today at GH¢50k

New Patriotic Party (NPP)

Flag bearer aspirants of the governing New Patriotic Party can now pick their nomination forms at the party's headquarters starting from today, Friday, 26 May 2023, until Saturday, 24 June 2023, the party has announced in a statement signed by General Secretary Justin Kodua Frimpong.

Each aspirant is to pay GH¢50,000 for the forms.

Vice President Mahamudu Bawumia, former trades minister Alan Kyerematen, Assin Central MP Kennedy Agyapong, Essikado-Ketan MP Joe Ghartey and the party’s former general secretary Kwabena Agyepong are vying for the slot.

Others include former energy minister Boakye Agyarko, former minister of agriculture Owusu Afriyie Akoto, former minister of regional cooperation and NEPAD Kofi Konadu Apraku and former Mampong MP Francis Addai-Nimoh.

Below is the party’s full statement on the nominations:


For Immediate Release

May 25, 2023



The New Patriotic Party (NPP), at its National Executive Committee (NEC) and National Council meetings held on Monday, April 3, 2023, approved the timelines for holding the party’s presidential primaries as follows:

Opening of Nominations – Friday, May 26, 2023

Closing of Nominations – Saturday, June 24, 2023

Special Electoral College Elections (if any) – Saturday, August 26, 2023

National Congress – Saturday, November 4, 2023.

Pursuant to the National Council timelines, the Party hereby announces, the opening of nomination for the presidential primary election.

Nomination forms shall be obtained from the Office of the General Secretary at the party headquarters, Asylum Down, from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm (Monday to Friday).

Consequently, an aspiring presidential candidate shall obtain the nomination forms after payment of a non-refundable nomination fee of Fifty Thousand Ghana Cedis (GH¢50, 000.00) only, through a banker’s draft issued to the New Patriotic Party, national headquarters, Accra, as payee.

The Party is determined to hold a free, fair, transparent and a peaceful presidential primary election, and urges all stakeholders to help make this a reality.

Thank you.