Saturday, 20 April

Shake-up in Majority Caucus: Afenyo-Makin replaces Osei-Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu

Mr Alexander Afenyo-Markin

Mr Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, the current Majority Leader and Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, is set to be succeeded by Alexander Afenyo-Markin, the current Deputy Majority Leader, according to an announcement from the Caucus in Parliament. 

While there is no immediate confirmation on whether Mr Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu will retain his government role as Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, there are indications that he might be appointed as the Chairman of the New Patriotic Party’s 2024 Manifesto Committee.

In the announced reshuffle, Mr Frank Annoh Dompreh, the present Majority Chief Whip and Member of Parliament for Nsawam Constituency in the Eastern Region takes over the position of Deputy Majority Leader.

 This announcement created an opportunity for Habib Iddrisu, the current First Deputy Chief Whip, to step into the role of Majority Chief Whip.

 Miss Patricia Appiagyei is named as the First Deputy Majority Chief Whip, following the vacancy left by Lydia Seyram Alhassan, whom President Nana Akuffo-Addo recently nominated as Minister for Water Resources and Sanitation.

The position of Second Deputy Chief Whip is assumed by Mr Alex Tetteh Djornobuah, MP for Sefwi-Akontombra A significant meeting of the NPP’s National Council is scheduled for Monday to address various matters, including a reshuffling of the Majority front bench.

 This follows President Akuffo-Addo’s Valentine’s Day Ministerial Reshuffle last week.

Source: Mensah