Wednesday, 07 June

Makayla of DPS International School is Int'l Women’s Day Best Public Speaker

Makayla Frimpong poses with her trophy

Ms Maykala Frimpong, a student of DPS International School, has been adjudged the best Public Speaker at the 2023 Inter School Girls Debate Championship. 

The championship, held on the theme 'Think Equal, Build Inclusively & Advocate for Change', at the University of Ghana’s (UG) Balme Library, Legon, took place on 8 March, 2023, marking the celebration of International Women’s Day (IWD).

There was also a panel discussion on 2023 IWD theme; 'DigitAll: Innovation and technology for gender equality'.

This theme was discussed by Jessica Armooh a Product Marketer and founder of the ‘No-Code Techies’ Community; Elizabeth Patterson an educationist and founder of the Girls Education Initiative of Ghana (GEIG); and Otema Yirenkyi, a Data Scientist and co-founder of the tech-based NGO, Because She Can.

Michaela Wekem, an animal biologist and UNPFA Youth Leader Fellow, moderated. 

The event saw participation from five schools; Alpha Beta Christian College, DPS International School, Achimota School, Ghana Lebanon Islamic Secondary School and Presbyterian Senior High School, Mampong.

The speakers were challenged to do two preliminary speeches comprising a prepared and an impromptu speech.

At the finals, the girls were tasked to deliver their speeches on the spot on various topics.

Completing the award winners of the public speaking category, Sedinam Kafui Amoo from Achimota School and Ruth Azure Abotsi from Alpha Beta Christian College took second place and third place respectively.

Ruth Azure Abotsi from Alpha Beta Christian College delivering an impromptu speech. 

Ms Jennifer Nsiah Sarkodie Esq., the convener and team lead for Seven Minutes for Girls Initiative commended the participants and their various schools for participating in this year’s Inter School Girls Debate Championship.

She thanked all the volunteers and individuals who supported the programme and encouraged more schools to participate in subsequent editions.

She appreciated the Chief Adjudicating Panel made up of Maureen Kyere and Abena Achiaa Otuo.

She also expressed her gratitude to the initiative’s Patron, Mrs Akosua Manu, Deputy CEO of the National Youth Authority, for her support.