Tuesday, 05 December

Seven sub-c'ttees for 13th African Games inaugurated

Sports News
Members being sworn into office

On Thursday, 25 November 2021, the minister of youth and sports, Mustapha Ussif, administered the oath of office and secrecy to members selected to serve on various sub-committees for the 2023 African Games at the conference hall of the Accra Sports Stadium.

In his remarks, the minister mentioned that the African Games, in 2023, will bring to Ghana a total of 55 African nations, as well as about 8,000 athletes, technical officials and journalists.

The sub-committees have been put in place to perform functions that will lead to the successful hosting and organisation of one of the best games organised on the continent.

He noted that organising and hosting the games places a great deal of responsibility on the country to adequately prepare for not just a successful African Games but also a memorable one, hence the need to constitute the sub-committees whose work will be essential to the success of the games.

The minister further congratulated members of the sub-committees who had been carefully selected to assist the Local Organising Committee (LOC) to deliver world-class games.

For his part, Dr Kwaku Ofosu Asare, Executive Chairman of the LOC, said the establishment of the LOC was a key requirement by the African Union Commission, the custodian of the African Games, adding that there are a total of 17 sub-committees to be constituted and will be inaugurated in phases in due course.

He noted that work is ongoing at the Borteyman and University of Ghana stadia in preparation for the games.

He further explained that the construction of the facility at Borteyman is in three folds: engineering, procurement and construction of the facility itself, adding that the contractor is currently on the engineering phase and expressed optimism that the construction will meet the timelines for the games.

He entreated Ghanaians to own the event, stressing that the games will become successful when Ghanaians fully give their support to the activities leading toward the event.

The sub-committees are:

I. Media and Communication - Chaired by Mr Dan Kwaku Yeboah

II. Technical Sub- Committee, Chaired by Dr Emmanuel Owusu ANSAH

III. Marketing and Sponsorship sub-committee Chaired by Mr Reginald Laryea

IV. Legal sub-committee Chaired by Ms Eva Okyere

V. Finance and Ticketing Chaired by Mr Andy Sam

VI. Legacy Sub- Committee Chaired by Dr Bella Bello Bitugu

VII. Medical and Anti-Doping Chaired by Dr Mrs. Beatrice D. William



Source: Classfmonline.com